For the first time in Cyprus

With the support of the Jean Monnet programme




Organised by

the Department of European Studies and International Relations, Intercollege


the Research Center - Intercollege


The 1st Cyprus Spring School on the European Union begins in Protaras on Sunday 15 April with the participation of distinguished academics from around the world and 24 (mainly) doctoral students selected out of more than 50 applicants from across the EU.


Its 12 sessions on “Understanding, Interpreting and Evaluating the European Union in 2007” will combine over one week, five expert-led seminars and two roundtable discussions open to the public, held on the Intercollege campus in Nicosia, in which key academic and public figures will deliver their interventions.  The themes to be covered include Integration and the Constitutional Treaty; internal and external aspects of economic and financial issues including the single currency; citizenship, democracy and the role of the sub-national regions; enlargement and European identity and foreign, security and defence policies.


The Spring School is organized by the Department of European Studies and International Relations of Intercollege and the Research Center – Intercollege with the support of the Jean Monnet Programme and in collaboration with the ECPR Standing Group on the European Union. Its academic directors, Professor Andreas Theophanous, Director General of the Research Center – Intercollege and Dr Stelios Stavrides of the Institute of International Economic Relations in Athens and Research Center – Intercollege, stressed the significance of this advanced research school and noted that one of their objectives is to institutionalize its organization in Cyprus on an annual basis.  A fundamental aim is the promotion of high quality academic research on EU related issues.  The participants include, among others, Professor Carlos Closa, Universidad de Zaragoza, Dr Romain Pasquier, Université de Rennes, Professor Sergio Fabbrini, University of Trento, Professor Kostas Lavdas, University of Crete, Professor Dr Hubert Isak, University of Graz, Professor Amy Verdun, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Dr Aylin Güney, Bilkent University, Ankara and Professor Christopher Hill, Cambridge University.

Τhe two open-to-the-public roundtable discussions will be held at the UNESCO Amphitheater on the Intercollege Campus on Wednesday 18 April and Friday 20 between 19:00 and 21:00 hours respectively.


  • The first roundtable entitled “Internal Cohesion and Convergence in the EU” will host the Ambassador of Germany in Cyprus Dr. Rolf Kaiser, the Mayor of Nicosia Eleni Mavrou, the Head of the Representation of the European Commission in Cyprus Themis Themistocleous and the Rector of Intercollege Professor Michael Attalides. The roundtable will be chaired by Professor Andreas Theophanous, Intercollege.


  • The second roundtable entitled “Cyprus, the EU and Regional Cooperation (including the Middle East)” will host MEP Ioannis Kasoulides, Dr. Aylin Güney, from Bilkent University, Ankara, Dr. Habib Malik of the Lebanese American University and Professor Andreas Theophanous.  The roundtable will be chaired by Nicos Peristianis, Executive Dean of Intercollege.


Download the program in pdf format


For further information on attending the open sessions please contact 22 841600 οr visit: